top of page

Writing Lessons & Advice: Punctuation





I touched on how punctuation is a fundamental ingredient to good writing but I only skimmed the surface of the subject. This lesson is a deeper dive into what punctuation is and how it's properly used. In addition, I’ll tell you more about my wedding!


Punctuation is a collection of symbols used in reading and writing. They are meant to help us understand written communication in terms of purpose, emotion, or emphasis; the beginning or end of an idea; and connections between ideas. Without proper punctuation, written communication is long, difficult, and just does not appear right. To better illustrate, compare these sentences:


My husband made a bold claim when we first met he told me on the first date he would marry me I felt more certain after a few more dates



My husband made a bold claim when we first met. He told me--on the first date--he would marry me! I felt more certain after a few more dates.


The punctuation turns the longer phrase into shorter, complete, easier-to-read statements and even expresses a few points of emotion and emphasis.


Such effects are better achieved when punctuation is used correctly. Here is a breakdown of common punctuation marks/symbols and their usage. The related punctuation and/or phrases are highlighted and/or emphasized in each example sentence.


End-sentence punctuation

Symbols that conclude a sentence


  • Period (.) Use at the end of a sentence that makes a statement. Using it a lot is very common. Examples: Close to a hundred of our family and friends were invited to the wedding. It was a short, simple ceremony.


  • An ellipsis is made with three periods in a row (...) Use it to omit text or to indicate a pause or cliffhanger. Example: It is my privilege to introduce...Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Holland!


  • Question mark (?) Use at the end of a sentence that asks a question. Examples: Do you take this woman to be your wife? Does anyone object to this union?


  • Exclamation point (!) Use at the end of a sentence or phrase that expresses strong emotion. Examples:Oh no! We forgot to tell my husband that someone else is picking up the reception desserts! I now pronounce you husband and wife! You may now kiss the bride!


  • Interrobang (?! or !?) Use to end a question that are either rhetorical or have strong emotion. Example: Did you know rain on your wedding day is a good omen?!


Sentence-structure punctuation

Marks that are found somewhere in the middle of sentences, they often indicate a pause or connections between ideas.


  • Apostrophe (‘) Use to show possession. Examples: I posed with my mother's wedding portrait for some of my own pictures. My husband’s family traveled in for the big day.


  • Semi-colon (;) Use to connect two independent clauses and in place of a coordinating conjunction. They can also be used when writing out phrases in a list or series. Example: I spent the morning getting my hair curled; my face painted and powdered; and putting on my bridal outfit.


  • Quotation marks (“abc”) Use to set apart conversation or titles of short works. Examples: Sweet Child O’ Mine by Guns N’ Roses was my daddy-daughter dance song. You Save Me by Kenny Chesney was the husband-wife dance song.

Another lesson goes into more detail on formatting titles in writing .


  • Dashes (--) Use to indicate a range or a pause; occasionally it can replace a colon(:), semi-colon, or ellipsis (...) too. Examples: The ceremony was scheduled from 12pm--12:30pm. Photos were taken between 12:30pm--1pm. Then the reception was held at the community center from 1pm--2pm.


  • Not to be confused with the hyphen (-); use to connect compound word modifiers. Example: This was the Johns-Holland wedding.


  • Comma (,) Use to separate phrases, clauses, or list items. They have their own lesson in another post so this will just scratch the surface. Commas are also very common, because it actually have eight basic rules of use.They:


Go between dates, addresses, titles, and numbers

Examples: I was married on April 30th, 2022 in Winfield, West Virginia.


Set off nonrestrictive clauses

Examples: During rehearsal, the night before, we ordered pizza for the wedding party.

My sister, a bridesmaid for several of her friends, was my maid of honor.


Set off appositives

Examples: My mom and my cousin, an expert decorator, had the idea of an “Alice in Wonderland” theme. I had live music, played by a family friend, at my reception.


Separate all items in a series

Examples: Playing cards, clocks, and roses were part of the decorations. For the reception, a caterer served fresh barbeque, baked beans, and cornbread.


Separate independent clauses: two complete sentences joined by a coordinating conjunction.

Example: Three young girls I know skipped down the aisle tossing flower petals, and the youngest dressed as the Queen of Hearts.


Come after an introductory clause or phrase: an introductory clause/phrase sometimes starts with a subordinating conjunction.

Example: When the wedding march played, both my parents walked me down the aisle.


Set off direct quotations

Example: We recited the traditional vows; the ones that say, “For richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, for better, for worse, until death do us part.”


Indicate direct address

Examples: Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to join this man and woman in holy matrimony. I, Katie, take you, Jacob, to be my lawfully wedded husband.




Again, punctuation used right properly divides, connects, and articulates written ideas effectively. The descriptions of my wedding day would not make as much sense without them! That’s why it's so important. Marks like the end punctuation and quotations may be easy to remember, but luckily, a writer can use proofreading programs or learn from reference guides for the trickier ones.


Hopefully you know a little more about punctuation’s purpose and uses and are encouraged to better utilized them! Enjoy this small collection of my wedding photos that further illustrate the big day!






If there’s a topic you want me to cover in the future, you’re welcome to reach out to me on the web chat features or socials!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page