top of page

Writing Lessons & Advice: Writer's Block





Previous lessons have touched on the foundations of written expression and producing your best work. Now let’s put them into practice!


Your writing materials are at the ready! A blank new document on your computer screen awaits your typing touch. A fresh notebook page anticipates the scrawl of your writing utensil. However, your mind is as blank as the canvas you stare at! Your ideas have become elusive butterflies! You keep missing your trains of thought! A pesky voice in your head wonders if your idea is even any good at all!


This is a typical scene of writer’s block, a condition in which a writer is either unable to reproduce new work or experiences a creative slowdown. Typical causes of it include stress, burnout, personal care needs, a lack in confidence, and/or a drive for perfection. Even the best of writers hit this hurdle, but it is not insurmountable.


Whether you are struggling for a starting point or stuck somewhere in a current project, here are my seven strategies to help break down writer’s block.



  • I like to look for writing prompts or exercises. I prefer Reedsy Prompts but you can find them anywhere: books, blogs, websites, even Pinterest pins. At times, interest is the key to progress, so I tend to run with whichever prompt interests me the most.



  • I might return to old stories/characters/material from time to time; possibly to write a sequel, prequel, or companion story of some sort, or I might further develop or revamp something I’ve already created. Some of the legwork is already there; it just might need some refreshing.

I've done this with these Reedsy stories:


  • Sometimes the ideas unlock if I leave writing for another task...but it’s annoying! My stalled ideas are suddenly free when I decide to go eat lunch or do housework. Yet, taking care of yourself and trying to manage a writing/life balance are common suggestions from other sources on this subject. Healthy diet and exercise help the brain. Taking care of any important tasks or any stressors in your control can make less mental baggage. Also, leaving to let the brain fog clear allows me to return to the project with a fresh pair of eyes.


You might jot down the basics of your new ideas in a notebook, a journal, or some place you can easily return to them when you’re able if you know returning to flesh them out will take a while. Catch that lightning in a bottle!


  • I might set goals. A perfect day for me would be one where I can write all day, but I know that’s not always realistic. Hyper-focused, binge-writing can lead to mental burnout, if not a little personal care neglect. One helpful way to strike a balance between the writing/life balance is to set reasonable writing goals or establish a reasonable writing routine. Your goals or routine might look like meeting a particular word count, page count, or writing for a certain period of time during a day or week. Mine are often focused on scenes, sections, or ideas of the work in progress.The key is to determine a measure of progress you can achieve without crashing or ignoring anything serious.


  • Sometimes I talk out my ideas or quandaries with someone. Writing doesn’t have to be a solitary effort with your own thoughts. My husband likes to be a listening ear and offer input when he can. Or I’ll ask a writer’s Facebook group I’ve joined.


  • I might move things around. I’ll flip-flop between writing and revising in cases of writer’s block. Maybe a scene or description will be better where I’m “blocked” at. Maybe a different sentence structure leads to a better transition. Sometimes I might just “skip” to drafting whatever part is on my mind next and attempt piecing it together with the existing content later. If fung shui or KonMari techniques help too, go for it.


Or for my own change in comfort or scenery, I’ve even moved myself from my desk to write in the living room, in bed, or in some public space suited to reading/writing/studying, like the library, the park, a cafe, or bookstore.


  • I might use what I call the “W questions”: who, what, when, where, why, how. They’re a good content development trick because they probe for defining details, as long as their focus is relevant or made relevant to the overall project.


  • I might draw from personal experience. I’m of the understanding that Meg Cabot developed the "Princess Diaries" series from some of her own diaries. Likewise, a few of my short stories draw from my own life in some way. By extension, keeping a diary or journal to record your life experiences, thoughts, feelings, etc. couldn’t hurt either. You can do this as much as you feel comfortable though and you might do so with some discretion to not upset or offend anyone.


If you want to see this in action, here are some of my “personal experience stories” published on Reedsy:

"Dressed Up and Nowhere to Go" - inspired by my dating life

"Valentine Candy-Grams" - inspired by a tradition at my high school

"Mom Had One Job!" - inspired by a unique experience in a family wedding

"2-XL: The Smartest Toy Robot in the World" - inspired by a childhood toy


Other cool "Writers Block resources" are featured in these lessons: Four Big Gift Ideas for Writers and Pantsers Vs. Plotters


If your creativity feels like it's crawling on a project at hand, it may need a change of pace or some time to catch up. Take a break to take care of yourself or something else. Write a little bit at a time instead of all at once. Listen to a helpful, second opinion. Try a new approach with an old work or a new workspace. Explore or experiment with theme if you don't already (see this lesson). Any combination is sure to beat your writer’s block!


If there's a topic you want me to cover in the future, you're welcome to reach out to me on the web chat feature or socials!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page